How I Pack a Yunomi for Shipment.

The following is how I pack a Yunomi for shipment. I’ve been packing and shipping my ceramic works throughout the country and around the world since I started selling online in 1996. To date, I have only had one piece break out of the 1000’s of pieces shipped, a record that I am quite proud of.

I generally ship Domestic via USPS Priority Mail with Delivery Confirmation, which costs an addition $.75, but is well worth it. I ship International via USPS  First-Class Mail International Parcel. This is the best international option for content values below $400.00 and packages weighing up to 4 pounds. There is no tracking or delivery confirmation and packages arrive anywhere in the world,  generally within 5-14 business days.

I wrap the Yunomi in a double layer of tissue paper, secured with scotch tape.

Next, I wrap the cup in bubble wrap. I prefer the small bubbles as they protect much better. I also include one of my business cards. Note: Wrap so that the bubbles are inside and the smooth side is out, the tape sticks much better.

Next, I cut a piece of cardboard the same size as the interior dimensions of the box, in this case, 6″ x 6″. I secure the tissue and bubble wrapped Yunomi to the center of the cardboard with packing tape.

Next, I fill the box with about 2″ of recycled and biodegradable “loose fill” cushioning material.

Next, I insert the cup into the box, notice how the cardboard keeps the cup centered in the box, this is important.

Next, I add more packing material and compress it to firmly protect all sides of the piece.

Next, I slightly over-fill the remainder of the box with packing material that will be compressed when the box is closed.

Next, I tape across the lid in both directions and I tape all exposed edges with the packing tape. When properly packed all sides of the box will be solid with no soft spots.

All ready to go….I put a layer of the clear packing tape over the address label to protect it from moisture. I also add Priority Mail and Fragile stickers. I often wonder if the fragile notices do any good, but I do think it makes an impression on the receiver’s end.

I love my tape gun…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to How I Pack a Yunomi for Shipment.

  1. I like the addition of the piece of cardboard to keep it centered. Great! Thank you.

  2. shyrabbit says:

    Very helpful post! Thank-you!!!

  3. Troy Bungart says:

    That is a fabulous packing job! Great idea using the square of cardboard to keep the cup centered in the box.

    In the cups that I have purchased on line I have found one error that shippers make over and over again is they put their business card right under the flaps of the box. When the tape is cut with a knife or box cutter the business card is damaged. So many artists have great business cards, I want to keep them on my wall, I always feel bad when I damage a business card or post card.

    • shyrabbit says:

      Thanks Troy…Great comment regarding the placement of an artist’s business card within the box. I think others will learn much from your statement, thanks again.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Always a very professional job..

  5. Judy Robbins says:

    Michael: Foamboard is also an excellent packing material, even for boxes if you have some scraps lying around. And I especially use it for packing flat pieces. Thanks for sharing. You are a good packer.

  6. Thanks for the packing demo! I thought I was doing a pretty good job but love the way you are doing it. I think I will do your way from now on.
    Kelly

  7. Kathy says:

    I also like USPS Priority for shipping in the US. I will definitely start using the cardboard technique~ brilliant !

  8. shyrabbit says:

    Thanks Kathy…A little cardboard = insurance.

  9. Great packing job!
    If you sign up with USPS online you can print up your shipping labels with postage at home, save a little money on each shipment and the delivery confirmation is included free.

  10. Karen says:

    Thanks for the really great packing advice! How would you pack a box with several pieces? — Thanks!

  11. Amanda says:

    Great Packing! I love the color of your tissue paper, where do you get it from?

    • shyrabbit says:

      Hello Amanda, sorry for the slow response. I get all my shipping supplies, including the black tissue paper, from PaperMart.com online, great service and timely delivery of my orders.

  12. Gareth says:

    Thanks for the clearly illustrated descriptions. It helps so much to actually see all those steps.

  13. Ann says:

    I ship my pottery priority mail too with very good success. Just wanted to add that if you print your labels on-line through their website, you get a little discount and the confirmation/tracking is free, plus no wait at the post office, in fact, you can even arrange to have the package picked up. Just a little fyi… :o)

  14. Ann says:

    Also, forgot to add, you can order free boxes through their website, not only just the flat rate ones. Box #4 is the perfect mug size and I often use box #7, I never see these offered at the post office, you exclusively have to order them on-line. Check it out in the shopping page of the post office’s website.

Leave a Reply

