I Got Interrupted…

The past holiday season was quite busy around the studio and gallery, with lots of people coming and going. It’s one of the drawbacks of having your work space adjacent to and in combination with an art gallery (SHY RABBIT Contemporary Arts). I’m not complaining, mind you, just stating a fact. I’m almost always happy to welcome visitors to my studio and the gallery, after all, that’s what we’re here for. Having said this, there is one particular time that I don’t welcome visitors and that’s when I’m mixing glazes. I generally try to reserve this task for those times that I think will be slow, early morning, late afternoon or after closing. Against my better judgement, because of a looming deadline, I set about to mix several batches of glaze, mostly shinos, in the middle of the day…not a good idea, I got interrupted…

Somewhere in the middle of mixing a satin crawling shino I was “interrupted” by an, at that time, “unwelcome” visitor. I marked my place in the recipe with a Post-it note and attended to the visitor. Twenty minutes later I’m back to mixing my shino. The next ingredient on the recipe to be weighed out was the felspar, but I reached for the calcium carb. instead. I didn’t realize the mistake until an hour later when a strange sense of.. uh oh! came over me. I replayed, in my mind, the addition of the last few ingredients and that’s when I discovered my  mistake.

The glaze had been mixed with water and sieved twice and was otherwise ready to go. I thought, calcium carb and feldspar are both fluxes so lets see what happens, so I test the batch on several small pieces including the sake cup pictured below. I fired the pieces in my last glaze firing to ∆10 in reduction, boy was I surprised by the results. What surprised me the most was the stoney like surface finish and the charcoal grays to lavenders and the golden hues on the inside. There were no oxides in this batch, this I know for sure, the iron rich clay body added some. I really like this glaze, a lot. I will test some more to see if it’s repeatable…It’s very possible, on that day, I got more than one ingredient screwed up and this glaze is just a short lived, one-of-a-kind.

This entry was posted in Glazes and Techniques. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Got Interrupted…

  1. Lesley says:

    Well I guess that the interruption was a good thing, unplanned experimentation I guess you could call it. I like the look.

  2. Susan H. says:

    LOVE this! Accidents are the best. Certainly hope that you can repeat this. Just gorgeous!!!!

  3. Lelia says:

    Beautiful stuff….I really admire people who can create. Thanks for sharing the pics with us. They are amazing too!

Leave a Reply

