My Cone 10 Reduction Firing Schedule in my 20 Cubic Foot Updraft kiln.

I’ve had quite a few inquiries about my typical firing schedule for the 20 cubic foot updraft kiln. Since I’m sitting here firing a bisque load, I thought I would take this time to post my schedule.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Cone 10 Reduction Firing Schedule in my 20 Cubic Foot Updraft kiln.

  1. Kaly says:

    Hello. I have an updraft kiln 20 cu. ft. Too I’m struggling to get to cone 10. Tonight we got to 2321. How do you get your gas pressure up past 6″ ? We have 11/4 pipe and are also using natural gas. Thanks for your help!

  2. Sorry for the super late response…Many things influence final gas pressure at the kiln. The two most important things other than the pipe size is, distance from the meter to the kiln and the pressure at the meter. Is this a commercial of residential meter?

    • Kaly says:

      Hello. It’s a residence. But we had a special line put in. Since I last wrote, I’ve gotten it up to cone 11. However, only the bottom half :(. If I push the shelves out to the sides it keeps the heat in but it keeps in the bottom, if I push them in to allow heat to go up…it doesn’t reach temp. Eeerrrgh! Any ideas? Thanks for responding.

Leave a Reply

