One Shino Many Different Colors.

Let me make the obvious statement…”I use a lot of Shino glaze on my work.” Now, having made the statement I also want to say…”but I don’t necessarily use a lot of different shino glazes, maybe only 4-5 total.

I love shino type glazes because they are so variable and a single shino glaze can show many faces and finishes. Not for everyone, I know, but for me this is what keeps me coming back for more. The three vases shown here are glazed with the same White Shino ∆10 reduction glaze, found here from a previous post.

These three vases show the wide range of color possible from a single shino glaze. The dark orange color is the result of a thin layer of shino sprayed on each vase. The “dot” was then masked off with masking tape and each piece was sprayed again with the thinner application being the vase on the right, the mid-level application being on left and the heaviest applicatin in the middle. Also, notice where the wet shino glaze ran off of the masking tape effectively creating a thicker application below the “dot”, where some crawling has occured. The clay for these vases is a ∆10 buff colored stoneware.

For many, shinos seem a bit unpredictable, and they can be, but with some experimentation the results can be controlled to an acceptable degree.

Have fun with shino, and please post images of your results if test this White Shino recipe.

Thanks, Michael

This entry was posted in Glazes and Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One Shino Many Different Colors.

  1. YOUR Sister-in-law says:

    I like the new look and the info on Shino was great . great color!

  2. Jan says:

    I am learning a lot!

  3. celeste Iida says:

    I cant recall if you were at the Clayhouse when SO Shino was introduced. I hated the way it crawled and seemed unremarkable if too thin. I recently started using it again and i LOVE it!!. The thickness of the glaze (especially shino) is crucial. If it’s too thick, not only does it take forever to dry, but if your vessel is improperly prepared, you can have crawling and sometimes, the glaze sloughs off the piece during the firing.
    I enjoy reading your blog and comments. Hope to talk or see you soon. Celeste

    • shyrabbit says:

      Celeste,
      Yeah, I was the one who brought the SO Shino to the Clayhouse. It’s a glaze I modified from a base glaze Neil Moss gave me. I named the glaze SO Shino because of the addition of Kosher Salt, SO was for SOdium. I’ve used this glaze for some time now and I love It. As you say this and most other shinos are very dependent on thickness of application. I will post the recipe here soon. Thanks for the comments.
      Michael

  4. cris says:

    Hola shino…me encantan tus trabajos ..tus obras sos genial cuando las veo sghe me llena el alma..cris de argentina

  5. Alex B. says:

    Thanks so much for your posts, particularly on shinos. I love shino glaze, but haven’t worked with them much. I’ve got the means to make my own glazes now and am greatly looking forward to trying out some of your recipes! Do you throw generally with stoneware or do you know would the shino above get those great flecks of color on B-mix?

    • shyrabbit says:

      Hello Alex,
      I throw with a buff stoneware with iron chunks, that’s what produces the flecks. Generally, if shinos are applied over B-mix too thick they tend to be white, so when I glaze with shino over B-mix I go thin. This produces great orange tones. I hope this makes sense.

  6. silvia vieira says:

    I am 65 years old and I just started learning ceramic. I love the shino glaze pieces you show in your web page, I hope I will be able to do something similar. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

